[iframe src="https://www.googletagmanager.com/ns.html?id=GTM-MX6JG9W" height="0" width="0" style="display:none;visibility:hidden"][/iframe]
Think first then dial

Organisational structure

The Commissioner of Police heads South Australia Police (SAPOL).

The Commissioner is supported by the Deputy Commissioner, eight Assistant Commissioners and three Executive Directors.

Six thousand employees provide corporate and statewide services.


  • Business Service
  • Crime Service
  • Governance and Capability Service
  • People, Culture and Wellbeing Service
  • Information Systems and Technology Service
  • Metropolitan Operations Service
  • Operations Support Service
  • Security and Emergency Management Service
  • State Operations Service
  • Organisational Reform Program
  • Thebarton Barracks Relocation

Metropolitan services

  • Eastern District
  • Northern District
  • Western District
  • Southern District
  • Public Transport Safety Section

State services

  • Barossa Local Service Area
  • Eyre and Western Local Service Area
  • Far North Local Service Area
  • Hills Fleurieu Local Service Area
  • Limestone Coast Local Service Area
  • Murray Mallee Local Service Area
  • Yorke Mid North Local Service Area

View our Organisational structure chart.