Police Officer of the Year


Congratulations to Chief Inspector Matt Nairn who was named 2019 South Australia Police Officer of the Year during a presentation at the Royal Adelaide Show.  The Award was announced and presented by the Rotary Club of Unley's President Elect Sorel Coward and District Governor Tim Klar.

Chief Inspector Nairn, the operations manager for Eastern District, was nominated for the award by a range of organisations that he works with in the community, namely, the City of Adelaide, the Don Dunstan Foundation, Encounter Youth and the Hutt St Centre.  His work with the homeless and young people in the city drew accolades from each group, noting his openness, willingness to build strong relationships and collaborative approach.  Chief Inspector Nairn also works with Adelaide Oval management and with the other organisers of major and special events in the city.

The Rotary Club of Unley has presented this award annually since 1978 in recognition of outstanding work by a committed police officer who is believed to have displayed high standards of professionalism; significant acts of courtesy, kindness, understanding or courage; or has handled a complex and difficult situation with humanity.

We congratulate Chief Inspector Nairn on this well-deserved honour.  Read the media release or watch a video.